General information on RES sector and participation in auctions | Participation in Auction | Аукционы ВИЭ
Joint-Stock Company Kazakhstan electricity and power market operator

General information on RES sector and participation in auctions

 

Kazakhstan has adopted and is implementing a concept for transition to "green" economy, in order to implement it, a legislative framework has been established and clear target indicators for the development of the RES sector have been identified. The authorized body implementing the state policy in the renewable energy sector is the Ministry of Energy of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

According to the concept for the transition of the Republic of Kazakhstan to the "green economy", the share of renewable energy sources by 2020 should be 3% of the total electricity production, by 2030 – 10%, by 2050 – 50%, taking into account alternative energy.

Achieving this goal is based on existing resource potential of renewable energy sources in the country. The existing potential of wind energy is estimated at 920 billion kWh per year, solar energy 3000 hours per year, hydropower 62 billion kWh per year. More detailed information on resource potential of the renewable energy sector of the Republic of Kazakhstan you may find here https://rfc.kegoc.kz/en/investors/resources/sun-atlas.

In 2009, Kazakhstan adopted the first legislative initiatives to support the development of renewable energy sector. In 2009, the law "On Supporting the Use of Renewable Energy Sources" was adopted which is aimed at supporting the use of renewable sources in production of heat and electric energy.

In 2013, the mechanism of state support for the renewable energy sector was launched, which is based on centralized guaranteed purchase of all electric energy produced by renewable energy sources at fixed rates. The Financial Settlement Center caries out centralized purchase and sale of electric energy generated by RES facilities and delivered in electric grid of unified power system of the Republic of Kazakhstan in the order provided by the Law on support of RES.

The mechanism of state support of RES sector until February 2018 was based on the practice of fixed tariffs. The introduction of fixed tariffs was a necessary measure for formation of renewable energy sector in the country, attracting investments into industry and served as a guarantee of return of invested financial resources in the implementation of RES in Kazakhstan.

Development of technologies in RES sector with growing number of investors wishing to implement RES projects in Kazakhstan, required introduction of mechanism capable of ensuring fair and competitive selection of projects. In this regard, since 2018 a mechanism of auction for selection of RES projects is introduced in the Republic of Kazakhstan.

In order to hold auction, amendments were made to the current legislation in the field of support of RES sector and the Rules of organizing and holding auction were developed.

The auction is held on the basis of schedule of auction annually approved by the Ministry of Energy of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

To attract private investment in the renewable energy sector of the Republic of Kazakhstan, the following measures are envisaged:

  • the single buyer of RES electricity is the financial settlement center for the support of renewable energy sources, established under JSC KEGOC, Kazakhstan Electricity Grid Operating Company;
  • investors are guaranteed to purchase the entire volume of RES energy at auction prices for 15 years upon signing purchase agreement with the FSC;
  • auction prices are subject to annual indexation starting from the second year of electricity generation: 70% for change of national currency exchange rate against convertible currencies and 30 % for consumer price index;
  • RES producers are exempt from payment for electricity transmission from RES;
  • financial settlement of imbalances from RES performs the FSC.
  • RES producers are granted priority dispatch in the transmission of electrical energy;
  • energy transmission organization may not refuse connection of RES facility due to grid unavailability;
  • cost of reconstruction and expansion of the grid is borne by energy transmission organization;
  • land plots and connection points to the grid are reserved for auction for selection of RES projects;
  • the legislation provides for investment preferences.

As of May 2020, there are 99 RES facilities in Kazakhstan, including:

  • WPP – 21;
  • SPP – 37;
  • HPP – 37;
  • BioPP – 4.

The total installed capacity for the 1st quarter of 2020 is 1 361 MW, including:

  • WPP – 335.9 MW;
  • small HPP – 224.6 MW;
  • SPP – 797.6 MW;
  • BioPP – 2.82 MW.

Electricity generation from RES facilities in 2019 amounted to 2,4 billion kWh, which is 2,3% of the total generation in the Republic of Kazakhstan.

To implement the RES facility construction project in Kazakhstan through the mechanism of guaranteed centralized purchase, a potential investor should:



Auction key dates

Общая информация о секторе ВИЭ и участии в аукционных торгах | Участие в аукционных торгах | Аукционы ВИЭ
АКЦИОНЕРНОЕ ОБЩЕСТВО «Казахстанский оператор рынка
электрической энергии и мощности»

Общая информация о секторе ВИЭ и участии в аукционных торгах

В Казахстане принята и реализуется концепция по переходу к «зеленой» экономике, в целях ее реализации создана законодательная база и обозначены четкие целевые индикаторы развития сектора возобновляемой энергетики. Уполномоченным органом, реализующим государственную политику в секторе возобновляемой энергетики, является Министерство энергетики Республики Казахстан.

Согласно концепции по переходу Республики Казахстан к «зеленой экономике» доля возобновляемых источников энергии к 2020 году должна составить 3% в общем объеме производства электроэнергии, к 2030 году – 10%, в 2050 году – 50% с учётом альтернативной энергетики.

Достижение поставленной задачи базируется на имеющемся ресурсном потенциале возобновляемых источников энергии в стране. Имеющийся потенциал ветровой энергетики оценивается в 920 млрд. кВтч в год, солнечной энергетики 3000 солнечных часов в год, гидроэнергетики в 62 млрд. кВтч в год. Более подробно с ресурсным потенциальном сектора возобновляемой энергетики Республики Казахстан Вы можете ознакомиться по ссылке https://rfc.kegoc.kz/investors/resources/sun-atlas.

В 2009 году в Казахстане были приняты первые законодательные инициативы по поддержке развития сектора возобновляемой энергетики. В 2009 году принят Закон «О поддержке использования возобновляемых источников энергии», направленный на поддержку использования возобновляемых источников при производстве тепловой и электрической энергии.

В 2013 году был запущен механизм государственной поддержки сектора возобновляемой энергетики, который основан на централизованной гарантированной покупке всей электрической энергии, производимой возобновляемыми источниками энергии, по фиксированным тарифам. Расчетно-финансовый центр осуществляет в порядке, предусмотренном Законом о поддержке ВИЭ, централизованную покупку и продажу электрической энергии, произведенной объектами по использованию возобновляемых источников энергии и поставленной в электрические сети единой электроэнергетической системы Республики Казахстан.

Механизм государственной поддержки сектора ВИЭ до февраля 2018 года был основан на применении практики фиксированных тарифов. Введение фиксированных тарифов было необходимой мерой для становления сектора возобновляемой энергетики в стране, привлечения в отрасль инвестиций и служило гарантией возврата вложенных финансовых ресурсов в реализацию проектов ВИЭ в Казахстане.

Развитие технологий в секторе ВИЭ с ростом числа инвесторов, желающих реализовывать проекты ВИЭ в Казахстане, потребовал внедрения механизма, способного обеспечить справедливый и конкурентный отбор проектов. В этой связи с 2018 года в Республике Казахстан внедрен механизм аукционных торгов по отбору проектов ВИЭ.

В целях проведения аукционных торгов были внесены изменения в действующее законодательство в области поддержки сектора ВИЭ и разработаны Правила организации и проведения аукционных торгов.

Аукционные торги проходят на основании графика проведения аукционных торгов, ежегодно утверждаемого Министерством энергетики РК. 

Для привлечения частных инвестиций в сектор возобновляемой энергетики в Республике Казахстан предусмотрены следующие меры привлечения инвестиций:

  • единым закупщиком электроэнергии от ВИЭ является расчетно-финансовый центр - ТОО «Расчетно-финансовый центр по поддержке возобновляемых источников энергии, созданный при АО «Казахстанская компания по управлению электрическими сетями «KEGOC»;
  • инвесторам гарантируется покупка всего объема энергии ВИЭ по аукционным ценам в течение 15 лет при заключении договора покупки с РФЦ;
  • аукционные цены подлежат ежегодной индексации, начиная со второго года выработки электроэнергии: 70% на изменение курса национальной валюты к конвертируемым валютам и 30% на индекс потребительских цен;
  • производители ВИЭ освобождаются от оплаты услуг за передачу электроэнергии от ВИЭ;
  • финансовое урегулирование дисбалансов от ВИЭ осуществляет РФЦ;
  • производителям ВИЭ предоставляется приоритетная диспетчеризация при передаче электрической энергии;
  • энергопередающая организация не вправе отказать в подключении объекта ВИЭ по причине неготовности сети;
  • затраты на реконструкцию и расширение сети несет энергопередающая организация;
  • для проведения аукционов по отбору проектов ВИЭ резервируются земельные участки и точки подключения к сети;
  • законодательством предусмотрены инвестиционные преференции.

По состоянию на май 2020 года, в Казахстане действует 99 объектов ВИЭ, в том числе:

  • ВЭС – 21;
  • СЭС – 37;
  • ГЭС – 37;
  • БиоЭС – 4.

Общая установленная мощность на 1 квартал 2020 г. составляет 1 361 МВт, в том числе:

  • ВЭС - 335,9 МВт;
  • малые ГЭС - 224,6 МВт;
  • СЭС - 797,6 МВт;
  • БиоЭС– 2,82 МВт.

Выработка электроэнергии от объектов ВИЭ за 2019 г. составила 2,4 млрд кВтч, что составляет 2,3% от общей генерации в Республике Казахстан.

Для реализации проекта строительства объекта ВИЭ в Казахстане через механизм гарантированной централизованной покупки потенциальному инвестору необходимо:



Ключевые даты аукционных торгов